My Eyes are Dim…

My horoscope said to expect miracles today, but unfortunately it seems winning Big Wednesday wasn’t the miracle I was waiting for.

But today has been quite miraculous, miraculous indeed!

Today I had a reading of Kiwiana Charlatan. It was organised by Playmarket so I had a director and actors. It was great to hear it read again (I’ve had a quick and dirty reading at my writers group) and to hear feedback from people who haven’t been there since I said “I have this idea…”

Not that feedback from people who have been there from the start isn’t valuable; it’s just that, after a while you can’t see the plot holes for the trees anymore.

This was something I tripped over on the last stretch of my novel rewrite last week (was it only last week? It seems so long ago…)

I had it all sorted, a few more things to tie up before I could send it to Phil so he could have a copy before he left the country. And then some new notes from a new reader came and I, well, sort of over reacted. I think it was just exhaustion and the thought of the finish line being out of reach again. Anyway once I had calmed down and started to breathe normally again, I realised that I had already addressed some of the comments and one of them was really important.

I had started the novel in a dream/fantasy sequence which we (that’s me and Phil) had known that because we know January. But new readers don’t. Kind of a problem at the beginning of the book huh?

In the end it just took a little rejigging (hey, Chapter 1 and 2 could be swapped…) and I got my draft in on time.

I think I started this story in order to say that fresh eyes are good.

OK. My Brain appears to have officially knocked off for the day. An early night for a tired writer methinks…

1 Comment

Filed under Kiwiana Charlatan

One response to “My Eyes are Dim…

  1. We all want to hear our work is perfect – and get it out into the world – but it’s that critical feedback that elevates our work, despite making it take a bit longer. But you know that!

    Sometimes doing the extra work seems daunting at first. It too me a year and a half to get around to my second draft of The Sound of Butterflies. I was completely overwhelmed by the feedback I’d been given and how much work I had to do. But in the end it only took me a few months to whip it into shape. If I’d known that, I wouldn’t have taken quite so long to get back to it and my career as a published novelist would have started slightly earlier!

Leave a Reply

