Thinking about career

I’ve been on a number of courses lately (there are a few more scheduled too) as part of my professional development at work.  (Y’know, the work I get paid for)

I had a six month review at the beginning of February ( why does that seem so long ago now?) and my manager asked me where I thought my future career lay, that maybe I should think about applying for study that doesn’t just make my job easier now (Excel and Access courses) but courses that would provide real development (policy/machine of govt stuff).

I was honest and said that I didn’t consider my job as my career; that my career is writing (but I will have a look at those courses; I have no idea what policy analysts actually do…)

Part of my thinks that if I take those courses, if I start considering “plan B” that I am just admitting defeat.

Sure it would help – I’ve got real estate fever again; I’ve always wanted to own a home but I live in an expensive city, work part time and already have a mortgage I mean student loan. If I had a “proper job” I guess I could start thinking about that kind of stuff…

Brrr. Sorry a cold chill ran down my spine.

Anyway all of that stuff got me thinking about my professional development as a writer.  I do set myself goals every year but maybe I should check back every six months to see if I’ve achieved them. It would at the very least satisfy the list monster inside of me. There is nothing more satisfying than ticking something off a list ( I strike through as well, just to amke sure the bugger doesn’t resurrect.)

So my loose goals for this year:

  1. Finish off the novel (fingers crossed that editing is not too involved!)
  2. Second draft of Kiwiana Charlatan
  3. Write first draft of Ohrwurm (new play – is it a play?)
  4. Rewrite screenplay of novel
  5. Rewrite Both Speak I (happy Ed?)

Those are my writing goals but I think I need to look at learning how I get these up. Once I figure out a plan of attack I’ll let you know.

Oh I forgot my most important goal:

6. Update blog regularly

My apologies for being a little useless! I will try harder 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Musings, On being a Writer

2 responses to “Thinking about career

  1. Dionne

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Professionally Written And Inspirational Wedding Speeches And Toasts…

  2. This is an interesting post, and one I can relate to as a fellow ‘day-jobber.’ I think you can progress in your day job and continue with your writing at the same time. Sometimes the busier you are the more productive you are, the more you mabage to squeeze in. I’ve found setting myself goals really helps too – mine are mini at the moment but there is something so satisfying about ticking them off.

Leave a Reply

