The Plan

I’ve finished!

The first draft of Kiwiana Charlatan is done and I will be backing it up on a CD shortly.

Because if my computer is ever going to crash, me old mate Murphy says it will be now…

I’m hoping to have a little read through at the next writing meeting I go to, and to be honest I feel a little nervous about it. Why? Because it feels like it is not really a first draft, more like a second or (dare I say) a third.  So it feels short and too clean. But I guess I won’t really know until it is read.

Someone once asked me how I knew when a draft was done. This is what I think: a draft is done when you’re not sure what your tinkering with will help the story or ruin it.  That’s when I down tools and let the piece cool off, or rather; let myself cool off. That’s when I ask another writer to have a look at it, or let actors loose on it. When I can no longer see it.

So I’ll have a reading and collect criticisms and then leave it for a while. Until my eyes clear…

Meanwhile I have a plan.

I am a list-maker, a planner. Part of the reason I was so resistant to the outline is because I like writing lists so much that I’d probably be quite happy just to do that. And not cross anything off. The list is a favorite form of procrastination!

So I launch into my plan with a little trepidation – will I get caught in an endless cycle of outlining and research? Will any actual writing get done?

I guess we’ll see when I start on Monday. Meanwhile, I’m taking the weekend off. Maybe I’ll even have a drink or two to wet the baby’s head.

4 Comments

Filed under Kiwiana Charlatan, The Graphologist's Apprentice

4 responses to “The Plan

  1. ed

    Congratulations!
    – I really should START writing a script!

  2. Hi, just discovered your blog (though I had heard rumours of its existence.)

    Congratulations on finishing your script!

  3. Whiti

    Thanks everyone! Now all I have to do is get it up…

Leave a Reply

